Grandpa Jude

Junior Carl “Jude” Loundree was born on 04 Apr 1924 in Oregon City, Clackamas, Oregon.  He was born at the home of a family member or friend (I’m not sure which) because they would not admit his mother, Ruby (Dodd) Loundree into the hospital because she had chicken pox, and they were afraid she’d infect all the other mothers and babies.

Jude was the only child of Ruby and Carl Loundree.  He grew up and attended school in Sandy, Clackamas, Oregon. The story goes that my grandmother, Helen (Guthu) Loundree, spotted him across the playground when she was about 14, and declared to her friends “That is the man I am going to marry.”   In 1946, they were married in Vancouver, Clark, Washington.

Helen and Jude had 3 children; Judith Ann, Larry Dean (my father), and Charla Dee. I believe they were all born in Portland, Multnomah, Oregon, but I will correct this post if I am wrong.

Loundree family: (l to r) Judy, Char, Jude, Helen, Larry in front

Jude served as a cargo pilot in the US Marine Corps from 1942-1946 in the Pacific Theater.  In civilian life, Jude was a carpenter. He built many houses in the Sandy area, including Half-Round House on Loundree Drive in Sandy (where I lived as a baby), and the duplex my grandmother still lives in in Sandy.

Somewhere along the way, Jude contracted tuberculosis. I’ve been told he got it while demolishing old chicken coops. In May of 1980, Jude passed away from a brain tumor. He donated his body to science, and he is listed as a donor up at Oregon Health Sciences University.

l to r: me, Gt-Grandpa Carl, Grandpa Jude

I don’t know much about Grandpa Jude; I was only 2 when he died. If you can share a story about him, please leave a comment below. If you are reading this from the home page, click up at the top on the title “Grandpa Jude” and it will reload the screen. At the bottom there will be a box where you can leave a reply.  I’d love to hear from you!

Published in: on December 9, 2010 at 11:34 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://familymystery.wordpress.com/2010/12/09/grandpa-jude/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

